Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Ranchi’s JSCA Stadium to host India-New Zealand T20I match on November 19


Ranchi, September 20: The BCCI on Monday awarded a marquee T20 international match to Ranchi during the home season starting November 17.

Team India will play a T20I match against New Zealand at Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium in Ranchi on November 19. It is after a gap of almost two years that JSCA Cricket Stadium in Ranchi will host international match.

This will be the second T20 of the three-match series during the Kiwis tour of India between November 17 and December 7. This will be the third occasion when Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium in Ranchi will host a T20 international match.

According to BCCI, India will host New Zealand for three T20 Internationals and two test matches. Jaipur (November 17) and Kolkata (November 21) will be the other two venues for T20 matches.  

JSCA International Cricket Stadium has earlier hosted 5 ODIs, 2 T20I and two test matches.

JSCA stadium hosted its 1st ODI match on 19 Jan 2013 between India and England. India played its last international match at state-of-the-art venue on from October 19-22, 2019 when it took on South Africa in a Test match.

India’s performance at Ranchi has been good ever since the JSCA stadium hosted its first ODI in 2013 when India defeated England by 7 wickets.

India has won both the T20I matches played at the venue defeating Sri Lanka and Australia. Team India played a T20I against Sri Lanka on February 12, 2016 in Ranchi where the hosts beat the island nation comfortably by 69 runs. It was the second T20 International of the three match series.

In the last T20 played at the venue on October 7, 2017 India beat Australia by 9 wickets.

Cricket lovers from Jamshedpur who travel to Ranchi for the international matches are also ecstatic after Ranchi was conformed one of the venues.

Ranchi is the only venue for international cricket in Jharkhand after Jamshedpur’s famous Keenan Stadium stopped hosting matches due to squabble between Tata Steel, the owner of Keenan Stadium and Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA). Keenan last hosted a one-day international between England and India on April 12, 2006, as a part of the TVS series.

After the T20s New Zealand will play two test matches. The first match will be hosted by Kanpur from 25th Nov to 29th Nov, 2021 followed by Mumbai from 3rd Dec to 7th Dec, 2021.

Meanwhile, The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah announced on Monday a busy 2021/22 home season for the Indian men’s team, starting from November 17, just three days after the final of the men’s T20 World Cup in Dubai.

Indian cricket team will play four Tests, 14 T20Is and three ODIs at home between November 2021 to June 2022, the BCCI announced in a press release on Monday.

These matches involve bilateral series against New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

New Zealand and Sri Lanka will visit India for two Tests and three T20Is each in November 2021 and March 2022 respectively. West Indies will tour India for three ODIs and as many T20Is in February 2022. In between the home season, India is scheduled to tour South Africa in December-January for an all-formats series.

After the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), schedule for which is yet to be known, India’s home season will end with a rare home series in June 2022 comprising five T20Is against South Africa.

Kanpur and Mumbai are venues for the two Tests against New Zealand while Bengaluru and Mohali will play hosts for the two Tests against Sri Lanka. Both series are a part of the World Test Championship’s 2021-23 cycle.

India vs New Zealand (2021)

1st T20I- November 17, Jaipur, 2nd T20I- November 19, Ranchi, 3rd T20I- November 21, Kolkata

1st Test- November 25-29, Kanpur, 2nd Test- December 03-07, Mumbai

India vs West Indies (2022)

1st ODI- February 06, Ahmedabad, 2nd ODI- February 09, Jaipur, 3rd ODI- February 12, Kolkata

1st T20I- February 15, Cuttack, 2nd T20I- February 18, Visakhapatnam, 3rd T20I- February 20, Trivandrum

India vs Sri Lanka (2022)

1st Test- February 25-01 March, Bengaluru, 2nd Test- March 05-09, Mohali

1st T20I- March 13, Mohali, 2nd T20I- March 15, Dharamsala, 3rd T20I- March 18, Lucknow

India vs South Africa (2022)

1st T20I- June 09, Chennai, 2nd T20I- June 12, Bengaluru, 3rd T20I- June 14, Nagpur, 4th T20I- June 15, Rajkot, 5th T20I- June 19, Delhi.


Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles