Saturday, December 9, 2023

Zilla Parishad member Rajkumar Singh to contest on AJSU ticket !

Jamshedpur : Zilla parishad member and BJP leader Parsudih-based transporter Raj Kumar Singh might contest from Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat on AJSU�s ticket. Talks doing the round are of any indication then Singh might resign from the saffron party to shake hands with the tribal outfit. Singh, already in the limelight for sponsoring drinking water from his own pocket during summers in Parsudih and Haludbani, is also keen to try his luck from the coveted Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat. Singh is known for successfully prodding the state government on road repair funds.

In 2013, the third consecutive year, Zilla Parishad member, transporter and Parsudih resident Rajkumar Singh (40) shelled out money to procure three tankers for supplying drinking water to his parched panchayat. Singh bought tankers of 4,000l, 6,000l and 10,000l. In 2012 and 2011, he funded 14,000l and 6,000l tankers each.

�We are in support of Ajay Kumar. He has proved his caliber when he served as the superintendent of the district. We have no doubt about his capabilities and we would request our party president to favour him as the candidate of JVM,� said a JVM leader.

�Singh is keen to fight the election on the AJSU ticket and was in discussion with party leaders for long,� said a AJSU senior party leader. He said that there are several well-known individuals who are keen to join the party and in the coming few days those names will only surprise people.

�We want to focus on fielding a strong candidate to give tough fight to ruling Government in the State. Our presence in the rural pockets of the district is relatively less than our rivals BJP and JMM so the party has decided to cover the ground before time,� said a party leader.

In last polls in 2011 the former supercop Ajay Kumar won the prestigious Jamshedpur Lok Sabha by-election with a record margin defeating his nearest rival, Dineshanand Goswami of BJP, by 1,55,727. The totally belonged to the former IPS officer who maintained his lead throughout the 23 rounds of the counting of votes, JVM candidate Dr Kumar bagged 2,76,582 votes while BJP candidate bagged 1,20,855 votes. Sudhir Mahato of JMM stood third in the ranking order securing 1,15,799 votes while AJSU candidate Astik Mahato came fourth with 99058 votes.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles