Monday, September 25, 2023

Tata Education Excellence (TEEP) awards presented

Himalayan Paths

Jamshedpur, May 3: Tata Education Excellence programme�s(TEEP) award function was organized on Tuesday at the Beldih Club. Sunil Bhaskaran, vice-president, Corporate Services, Tata Steel and chairman, TEEP, was the chief guest on the occasion.

Awards for the year 2014-15 were given away by Sunil Bhaskaran, N K Sharan, Vice President,Tata Business Excellence Group (TBExG), TarunDaga , MD ,TCIL , and TEEP Executive Committee members, Mr Alok Krishna,Chief, TQM, Tata Steel,and Ms Ruchi Narendran , Chairperson, JEM Foundation.

A total of 54 schools participated in the TEEP in the year 2015-16 under SARAL, BASIC & REGULAR programs. Most of these schools also participated in other TEEP initiatives such as EQUIP (Educational Quality Improvement Projects), Innoteaching (Innovation in Teaching methods), Pankh (Student led improvement stories) and Pearl (Best Practice Sharing).

TEEP Regular:
With an objective to ensure that those schools get more time to focus on improvement initiatives, it was recommended by the TEEP Executive Committee that Regular Assessments would take place once in a block of two years instead of every year.

During the intervening year, schools will undergo a Dip Check. This was unanimously accepted by the Principals of TEEP program. Schools� participation in other improvement initiatives (EQUIP, PANKH, Innoteaching & PEARL, CPP) continues as before.

Consequently, 13 schools participated in the comprehensive Regular Assessment in 2015-16. Eight schools participated in Dip Check Assessment. Dip Check ensures that schools continue the momentum of excellence and focus on improvements.

All the 21 schools will receive commendation awards as well as Certificate of participation next year at the end of the 2 year assessment cycle. Sixty-four trained assessors-including principals and teachers guided by two mentors carried out the comprehensive task of assessing these schools and 11 trained assessors conducted the Dip Check assessment.

TEEP Basic: 11 schools had undertaken assessment under the TEEP-Basic program in the current year. Two schools received commendation awards at the awards function and 9 schools were given certificate of participation. Twenty-three trained assessors carried out the assessment of these schools.

TEEP Saral: Saral program was initiated for the first time in 2014 to cater to schools for the underprivileged.

22schools had undertaken assessment under the TEEP-Saral program in the current year.4 schools received commendation awards at the awards function and 18 schools received certificate of participation.43 assessors carried out the assessment of these schools.

Improvement Initiatives
Schools were also recognized for their improvement initiatives. The schools were awarded for their �Education Quality Improvement Projects� (EQUIP) this year. Out of 58 EQUIPs received from various schools, 8 were recognized at the award function.

Another category of recognition was �PEARL OR School�s Good Practices. Of the 99 promising practices identified by the assessment teams, 4 were recognized at the award function.

Under Innoteaching, papers are submitted by teachers on improvements and innovations implemented by them in the teaching methods. Of the 58 Inno-teaching papers submitted from16schools,7 were recognized.

PANKH is an initiative for students tell their improvement stories.30 such improvement papers were submitted from as many as 20 schools.4 papers have been recognized.

For the first time, schools under SARAL and BASIC Programs participated in Innoteaching, PANKH and PEARL initiatives.

Assessor Recognition

A total of 128 assessors, mostly Principals and teachers of schools, had carried out assessments of 54 schools under the Assessment programs- Regular, Dip Check, Basic and Saral. They received certificates for assessment.

Program Function Highlights:
In his welcome address, N.K. Sharan said that schools had different opportunities to participate in the excellence journey. He mentioned that besides Regular Assessment, EQUIP, and PEARL, a school could also participate in Innoteaching (for teachers) and PANKH (for students). Schools from underprivileged background can now also undertake the excellence journey through SARAL Program.

Daisy Irani, president, school management committee of Baug-e-Jamsheed School, released the Excellence Primer for Class V. The Excellence Primer was created by the TEEP Working Committee � Late ShireenDotivala (Baug-E-Jamsheed School), Amy Billimoria (Tarapore School), Nandini Shukla (Kerala Samajam Model School), Sunita Sinha (Gulmohur High School), Nargis Madon (J H Tarapore School) to help students understand the concepts of quality and excellence early in life. The Primer is dedicated to Late Shireen N Dotivala.

In his address, the chief guest lauded the initiatives taken under TEEP.

The TEEP Award program was attended by a large number of principals, teachers and students from more than 50 schools. P. Ramesh and Dr. DeepaliMisra from TBExG conducted the program with support from Vidya Battiwalla.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles