Sunday, December 10, 2023

State bound to face total blackout if situation continues: Shramik Sangh

Ranchi: State electricity department workers� union has threatened to go on an indefinite agitation in case the state government does not take a decision on appointing the managing directors of the various holding companies of Jharkhand Energy Development Corporation Limited (JEDCL).

The union members made the announcement following a decision taken to this effect during a meeting of the core committee. Presiding over the meeting, Ajay Rai, president of the union, Shramik Sangh, said the state was bound to face blackout in the current situation as it was not possible to provide electricity to the entire state by borrowing the same from other states on a temporary basis.

Rai said a permanent arrangement should be made to ensure that power supply scenario in the state improves and Jharkhand does not need to borrow power from other states.

Rai said the state government had failed to appoint MDs of the holding companies formed after the disintegration of the JSEB in order to provide hassle-free electricity supply to the state.

�It is surprising that even after six months of the JSEB�s disintegration, the government has not been able to appoint MDs of the holding companies. As a result, no decision has been taken on vital issues. The Board officials and employees are facing the brunt of public anger and criticism,� he said.

Rai said the state government should provide security to the electricity department officials and workers so that they may work under a safe and secure environment.

Members of Shramik Sangh have given a notice to the department regarding its decision to go on indefinite strike from 15th June onwards. They said the state energy minister Rajendra Prasad Singh should take quick decisions or else be ready to face the consequences of the delay.

Those present in the meeting of the union included Amit Kashyap, Vijay Singh, Yusuf Khan, Diwakar Mishra, Mohammad Israfil Ansari, Mohammad Naeem, Parshuram Yadav, Vijay Thakur, Prasadi Mahato, Munna Gorai and Basu Oraon.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles