Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Rourkela Steel plant trounces Salem Steel by 16 runs in inter steel plant cricket championship


Jamshedpur, March 12: Rourkela Steel plant defeated Salem Steel plant by 16 runs in the opening match of the Inter Steel Plant Cricket Championship T20 match played at Keenan Stadium on Monday, March 12.

Batting first Rourkela Steel plant team scored 152 runs losing five wickets in 20 overs. Swastik Samal scored 46 runs, Ashish Mitra scored 48 while Ashish parija contributed with 32 runs. From Salem Steel P Nandagopal took 2 wickets giving away 29 runs.

In reply, Salem Steel plant could only manage 136 runs and lost the batch by 16 runs. Sharun Kumar scored 33 runs, Salman Khan scored 34 while K Prabhakaran managed 33 runs. Rourkela Steel plant bowlers Swastik Samal took 3 wickets and Ayashkant took 2 wickets.

Earlier, Saurabh Rai, Chief (CSR), Tata Steel, along with Ravi Radhakrishnan, Chief (Aviation Services & Sports), Tata Steel inaugurated the championship.
Tata Steel in association with SPSB is conducting the All India Inter Steel Plants Cricket Championship (T 20) from 12th to 18th March` 2018 at the Keenan Stadium and Tata Motors Ground.

12 Steel Plants teams from across the country are participating in the championship. Around 180 Cricketers / Umpires are participating.

Teams from Alloy Steel Plant, Durgapur, Tata Steel, Vishakhapatnam Steel Plant (RINL/VSP), Rourkela Steel Plant, Bhilai Steel Plant, Bokaro Steel Limited, Indian Steel Plant, Burnpur, Vhadrawati Iron & Steel (VISL), Jindal Steel WSL, Bellary, Salem Steel Plant, Durgapur Steel Plant and JSPL, Raigarh are participating

Kamlendu Mishra of ASP, Durgapur has been nominated as the Observer of the championship.

During the inaugural match, Ashish Kumar, Head Sports, Tata steel, Bagicha Singh, V Ramakrishna, Binod Khullar, Ashim Ghosh, Umesh Sethy, Mahesh Jha, Dipak Kumar, Kuldip Singh, V Ramana and employees of Sports dept and ex cricketers were present.

BCCI Qualified Umpires of Jamshedpur A M Aich, Raju Pandey, Avishek, Hemant,
Deepak Sethy, Sanjay Mishra, Prakash are the umpires officiating the matches of the championship.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles