Tuesday, December 5, 2023

RFYS football: Dugu to the four as Netaji Shubhas, CMJKM register big wins

Jamshedpur: Dugu Soren scored four goals to power Netaji Shubhas Public School to a thumping 6-0 victory over Gulmohar School (Telco) in a junior boys qualifying match of the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports football tournament that resumed here on Tuesday after a two-day break.

The one-sided encounter at the Tinplate Sports Complex Stadium eventually looked more like a battle between teammates Dugu Soren and Vishal Lohar, who scored two goals for Netaji Shubhas.

Sheer brilliance of Dugu got the better of the initial resilience shown by Gulmohar boys as he scored his first goal of the match in the 29th minute. He went on the score in the 30th, 37th and 44th minutes � twice scoring back-to-back goals, eventually earning him the player of the match title too.

Teammate Vishal too chipped in with back-to-back goals in the 34th and 36th minutes to complete the rout.
In yet another high-scoring junior boys� qualifier, Chandra Mohan Jamini Kant Mahato Inter College (CMJKM) Inter College demolished Little Flower School (LFS, Telco) 10-0 at the same venue.

Sunil Hansda and Abhiram Murmu led the charge scoring three goals each while Jagannath Murmu (two goals), Sushil Soren and Chhaku Hansda (one each) also got on to the score sheet.

The third match at the same venue was in contrast to the high-scoring order of the day with Sri Krishna Public School defeating Dakshina Bharatha Mahila Samaj (DBMS) Lilliput School 5-3 via tiebreaker after the teams were level 1-1 at full-time. Player of the match Garohi Raj Singh put Sri Krishna ahead in the 35th minute and they managed to held on to that slender lead until Rohan Lohar netted the equaliser for DBMS in the 60th minute.

In the penalty shootout, Shubham Kumar Mishra, Sunny Kumar, Aroz Khan and Akash Kumar Thakur scored for Sri Krishna while. On the other hand, DBMS had a disastrous start to the shootout with both Kirshna Mukhi and Rohit Das missing the first two spot-kicks. Deepal Hembram and Rohan Lohar did score but it was too late, too little.
Results (qualifiers)- Junior boys: Netaji Shubhas Public School bt Gulmohar School (Telco) 6-0, CMJKM Inter College bt Littler Flower School (Telco) 10-0, Sri Krishna Public School bt DBMS Lilliput School 5(1)-3(1); Jamini Kant Mahato (JKM) High School bt Kerala Public School, Kadma 3-0.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles