Friday, June 2, 2023

MP Bidyut Baran Mahato receives Sansad Ratna Award


Jamshedpur, March 25: Jamshedpur MP Bidyut Baran Mahato was conferred Sansad Ratna Award for the second consecutive time here on Saturday. He received the award at New Maharashtra Sadan at KG Marg, New Delhi. He was presented a shawl and letter of appreciation on this occasion.

After receiving the award, Mahato said, “It is a moment of pride and satisfaction or me. This award makes me more responsible as an MP and inspires me to raise every big and small public issue in the Lok Sabha. I dedicate this award to the people of my Parliamentary constituency of Jamshedpur.”

The names for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023 was released in February this year. A total of thirteen members of parliament and two parliamentary committees have been honoured with the accolade.

T K Rangarajan (two-term Rajya Sabha MP and prominent CPI-M leader) has received the Sansad Ratna Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lok Sabha’s Parliamentary Committee on Finance, chaired by Jayant Sinha, and the Rajya Sabha’s Standing Committee on Tourism, Transport, and Culture, chaired by Vijay Sai Reddy, were also honoured with the Sansad Ratna Award.

Thirteen MPs were nominated for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2023, including Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, RJD’s Manoj Jha, and CPI-John M’s Brittas. The 13 MPs include eight from the Lok Sabha and five from the Rajya Sabha, as well as three retired members, according to the Prime Point Foundation, which established the award.

Under the special awards category, a jury committee directed by Union Minister of State Arjun Ram Meghwal and co-chaired by former Chief Election Commissioner of India S Krishnamurthy nominated two departmentally connected standing committees and a renowned leader.

The committee is made up of distinguished legislators and members of civil society.

Other MPs who were conferred the award are Dr Sukanta Majumdar (BJP, West Bengal), Kuldeep Rai Sharma (INC, Andaman Nicobar Islands), Dr Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (BJP, Maharashtra), Gopal Chinayya Shetty (BJP, Maharashtra), Sudhir Gupta (BJP, Madhya Pradesh) and Dr Amol Ramsing Kolhe (NCP, Maharashtra) for their performance in the 17th Lok Sabha under various categories. The nominations are based on members’ total performance in Questions, Private Members Bills, and initiated debates from the start of the 17th Lok Sabha until the end of the Winter Session 2022.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles