Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Metallurgical students’ seminar BTTD-2016 starts today at CSIR-NML

Jamshedpur, June 8: The Indian Institute of Metals (IIM), Jamshedpur chapter, NIT Jamshedpur, Tata Steel Limited and CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory (CSIR-NML) have been working together to nurture the young metallurgists and inspire them to flourish into dedicated professionals.

This year, Indian Society for Non-Destructive Testing (ISNT), Jamshedpur Chapter, has joined in organizing BTTD 2016. “Behind The Teacher’s Desk” (BTTD) is the annual students’ seminar for the promising and aspiring metallurgists, providing a befitting platform for interaction of student and the experts from industry/R&D/academia.

Students’ seminar on metallurgical engineering “Behind The Teacher’s Desk” (BTTD-2016) will be organized at CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur, on June 9-10. In this event, the young generation of professional metallurgists gets an opportunity to share their academic achievement, innovation, creativity, sense of adventure and new ideas in the field of metallurgy.

Anand Sen, president TQM and Steel Business, Tata Steel, will be the chief guest for the inaugural program, while Professor Rambabu Kodali, director, NIT Jamshedpur will be the guest of honor. The event will start at 9.30 a.m. on Thursday, June 9.  

Plenary Talk-1 will be addressed by Dr. T. Venugopalan, technical advisor to MD, Tata Steel, while Plenary Talk-2 will see Amitava Sircar, COO, Usha Martin, Jamshedpur, addressing the gathering.

The BTTD seminar, held at the CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory for the past five years, has been a great success and has now become a sought after event among students’ fraternity. The participation of undergraduate and post graduate students from across the country has been very high and is increasing over the years.

The seminar provides a podium to the participants to share their ideas and interact with scientists, eminent metallurgists, engineers and entrepreneurs so as to develop new skills in the field of metallurgy.

The delegates will be from various academic institutions such as NIT Jamshedpur; VSSUT Burla; NIT Durgapur; VNIT Nagpur; NIFFT Ranchi; Jadavpur University; BIT Sindri; NIT Rourkela; IIT Kharagpur; GCE Salem; IIT BHU, Varanasi; NSIT BIHTA, Patna; IMMT Bhubaneswar; BIT MESRA; GEC Gandhinagar; Central University of Jharkhand; PSG College Coimbatore; AKU Patna; Andhra University; NIT Raipur; IIIT Nuzivutu; Institute of Engineers; IIT Patna; and NIT Warangal.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles