Thursday, December 7, 2023

KSMS crosses 600-point barrier to bag Dr JJ Irani Award for Excellence in Education

Jamshedpur, April 8: Kerala Samajam Model School stormed 600 point barrier to bag the coveted Dr. JJ Irani Award for Excellence in Education, an honour conceived by Tata Education Excellence Programme. There by becoming the second school of Jamshedpur to receive the award after Baug-E-Jamsheed won the title in 2013 and they continued their performance going with scoring 600 points again.

Tata Education Excellence programme�s (TEEP) 10th Annual Award function was organised today at Tata Auditorium, XLRI Dr S. Radhakrishnan ex Chairman ISRO, was the Chief Guest for the occasion.A total of 56 schools had participated in the TEEP program this year. Most of these schools also participated in other TEEP initiatives such as EQUIP (Educational Quality Improvement Projects), Innoteaching (Innovation in Teaching methods), Pankh (Student led improvement stories) and Pearl (Best Practice Sharing).

JH Tarapore first time scored 550-599 points while Tarapore School Agrico maintained the same and received commendation for Outstanding Achievement of Excellence in Education.

Commendation for Extraordinary Achievement in Excellence in Education Kerala Public School , Kadma scored 500-549 points while Gulmohur High School, JUSCO School ,Kadma, JUSCO School , South Park, Kerala Public School , Mango and Motilal Nehru Public School sustained the points.

NML Kerala Public School received commendation for Strong Commitment to Excellence in Education scoring between 450-499 points while Jamshedpur Public School, Hill Top School, Kerala Public School ,Burmamines, Vidya Bharti Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Telco sustained.

Awards for the year 2013-14 were given away by Neerav Kant ,Managing Director ,ISWP , Ashish Mathur, MD ,JUSCO , NK Sharan ,Vice President , TQMS , Tarun Daga , MD, TCIL, Suresh Dutt Tripathi , Vice President , Human Resource Management, Tata Steel and Dr S. Radhakrishnan.

dr irani award2TEEP Regular: 24 schools (21schools from Jamshedpur and 3 schools from out-locations) had participated in TEEP-Regular program in the current year. Schools received commendation awards at the award function as well as �certificate for participation�. 114 trained assessors-including Principals and teachers guided by 3 mentors carried out the comprehensive task of assessing these schools.

TEEP Basic: 9 schools (7 from Jamshedpur, 2 from out locations) had undertaken assessment under the TEEP-Basic program in the current year. 3 schools received commendation awards at the awards function and 6 schools were given certificate of participation. 9 trained assessors carried out the assessment of these schools.
TEEP Saral: Saral program was initiated for the first time last year to cater to schools for the underprivileged.
23 schools had undertaken assessment under the TEEP-Saral program in the current year.7 schools received commendation awards at the awards function and 16 schools received certificate of participation. 43 assessors carried out the assessment of these schools.

The schools were also awarded for their �Education Quality Improvement Projects� (EQUIP) this year. Out of 71 EQUIPs received from various schools, 8 were recognized at the award function. Another category of recognition was �PEARL -Good Practices of Schools�. Of the 97 promising practices identified by the assessment teams, 5 were recognized at the award function.

Mr. N.K. Sharan, Vice President, Tata Quality Management Services, informed that schools had different opportunities to participate in the excellence journey.He mentioned that besides Regular Assessment , EQUIP , and PEARL ,a school could also participate inInnoteaching ( for teachers ) and PANKH (for students).Schools from underprivileged background can now also undertake the excellence journey through SARAL Program.

In his address, the Chief Guest lauded the initiatives taken under TEEP.

The TEEP Annual Award programme was attended by a large number of Principals, teachers and students and managing committee members of more than 50 schools, senior government officials, Senior executives of Tata Group of Companies, Union leaders, retired executives, and senior citizens. Ms Amrita Singh of Tata Motors , Mr P.Ramesh and Dr. Deepali Misra from TQMS conducted the program.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles