Thursday, November 30, 2023

DMs of violence-hit MP districts transferred

Bhopal, June 8 (IANS) The District Magistrates of three violence-hit Madhya Pradesh districts — Mandsaur, Ratlam and Neemuch, were transferred on Thursday morning amid growing agitation by the farmers.

A circular issued said Mandsaur DM Swatantra Kumar Singh has been replaced by Shivpuri DM O.P. Shrivastava, while B. Chandrashekhar has been replaced by Tanvi Sundriyal in Ratlam.

In Neemuch, Kaushlendra Vikram Singh was named the new DM replacing Rajneesh Shrivastava.

The farmers agitation entered its eighth day on Thursday. The peasants have been on strike since June 1, demanding loan waiver and fair price for their produce.

On Tuesday, the agitating farmers resorted to violence, pelting stones at police in Mandsaur district. In retaliation, police opened fire at the farmers’ mob, leaving five dead, according to official count, and eight according to farmer leaders.

Violence erupted again on Wednesday as the protesting farmers indulged in arson with hundreds defying the curfew in Mandsaur.

A group of farmers also marched to a police station in Dewas district and set fire to vehicles parked there.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles