Wednesday, November 29, 2023

XLRI to confer Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal to Chairman, SBI

Jamshedpur : XLRI (Xavier School of Management), the premier private B School is all set to hold the 58th Annual Convocation on March 22 at the campus in XLRI Tata Auditorium.

On this significant day, 245 students of Post Graduate Programmes in Management, 5 students of Fellow Program in Management from Jamshedpur Campus, 119 students of 2013 batch of 15-months PGDM (General Management) Programme and 35 students from Executive PGP course from Dubai Campus will receive their graduating certificates and medals.

This year, Arundhati Bhattacharya, Chairman of the State of India will be conferred the prestigious Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal for Industrial and Social Peace at the event. She will also deliver the convocation address to the graduating students. The event will be graced by Mr. H M Neruakar, Chairman, Board of Governors, XLRI, Fr. E Abraham S.J., Director of XLRI, Dr. Pranabesh Ray, Dean, Academics at XLRI and other dignitaries.

Jehangir Ghandy Medal for Industrial and Social Peace, instituted by XLRI in 1966, in honour of the Late Sir Jehangir Ghandy, former Chairman of the Board of Governors- XLRI is awarded to Heroic Leaders who have contributed towards the growth of their respective organizations and also impacted the growth of our nation in a significant way.

The medal was instituted by XLRI in gratitude for Sir Jehangir Ghandy�s yeoman contribution to XLRI and the society at large. One of the oldest medals instituted by a higher education institution, the medal is awarded during XLRI�s Annual Convocation Ceremony to recognize outstanding contributions in the field of industrial and social peace in the country. Last year, the medal was conferred on Mr. Shiv Nadar, Founder & Chairman, HCL and Shiv Nadar Foundation.

Speaking about this momentous occasion Fr. E Abraham S.J., Director of XLRI said, �Convocation is an important milestone event in the life of every student, faculty, and staff. It is the culmination of all the efforts put in by an individual during their time at the campus. I congratulate all the students�.

He further added, �Arundhati Bhattacharya is the first woman Chairman, State Bank of India which holds a legacy of 208 years. In her extensive service in SBI, she has handled almost every function: foreign exchange, treasury, retail operations, human resources, investment banking portfolios, large corporate credit as well as initiatives such as financial inclusion and financing of Self-Help Groups.

She has been instrumental in setting up several new companies/initiatives of the Bank. She has always been sensitive and empathetic to gender issues in the bank, introduced a sabbatical facility upto two years for the women employees in SBI Capital markets while she was MD and subsequently in the Bank as Chairman and has been a member of the expert committee of bankers to prepare a blueprint for the first all-women bank.

This year we have decided to honour Ms. Bhattacharya with the prestigious Sir Jehangir Ghandy Medal for Social and Industrial Peace.�

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles