Thursday, March 23, 2023

Walkathon organized to mark World Heart Day


Jamshedpur, Sep 29: Brahmananda Narayana Multispeciality Hospital, organized a ‘Walkathon’ on the occasion of World Heart Day today.

Over 2500 fitness enthusiasts, entrepreneurs, budding athletes, students and health professionals across the steel city of Jamshedpur, came together to take part in the walkathon.

Commencing at 6am from Modi Park (near Keenan Stadium), the walkathon proceeded via Sakchi Roundabout ending at Dhalbhum Club. The walkathon was flagged off by Padmabhushan Prem Lata Agarwal – country’s leading mountaineer and Dronacharya Purnima Mahto – country’s leading women archer.

The walk themed ‘Walk for your heart’ is an initiative undertaken by the hospital to create awareness among the populace of Jamshedpur, especially women and children on preventive heartcare.

The 1.5 km walk was followed by awareness talks on preventive heartcare by leading cardiologists such as Dr Abhay Krishna, Dr B Kumar and Dr. Perwez Alam from the hospital.

Commenting on this initiative, Dr. B. Kumar, Senior Cardiologist, Brahmananda Narayana Multispeciality Hospital, said,” Rapid changes in lifestyle, work-life stress and unhealthy dietary habits have contributed more to heart diseases amongst the elderly, across the globe.

The scenario is entirely different in India with almost 25% of the victims of cardiac arrests falling under the age of 40.

As a prelude to the Walkathon, Brahmananda Narayana Multispeciality Hospital, had also organized an Inter School Drawing competition on the eve of World Heart Day, wherein students from different schools were invited to participate. 280 students from 38 schools participated in inter school theme based (WHD) drawing competition.

The winners were awarded a privilege coupon for family Health Checkups.

On the occasion Harpreet Singh-Vice President-Adhunik Alloys, Devendra Thakur-S.S.P Rural, P. N. Singh-President-TWU, Dr. Abhay Krishna, Deepak V. Gopalan-Zonal Director, Narayana Hrudayalaya, B. N. Singh-GM-BSNL, A. P. R. Nair-Chairman-Kerala Samajan, Devendra Thakur- S.S.P Rural, Bailly Bodhonwalla, Rajiv Agarwal- BN Seva sadan trust and other prominent guest were part of the marathon.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles