Tuesday, December 12, 2023

Suresh Sonthalia re-elected SCCI President

Jamshedpur, Sept 23: Suresh Sonthalia was the re-elected the President of Singhbhum Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SCCI) but three top members of his team Bharat Vasani, Shrawan Kabra and Sudhir Singh lost to the trio of Team Parivartan.

The results for the polls were declared late on Tuesday night after members of both the groups created ruckus and police resorted to lathi charge at 1.30 am on Wednesday.

The results were declared at around 2 am on Wednesday only after SDO Dhalbhum Alok Kumar reached the Chamber Bhawan. Presidential candidate of Team Parivartan Alok Choudhary lost heavily to Sonthalia but Prabhakar Singh, Nand Kishore Agarwal and Punit Kanvatia showed the actual Parivartan.

There was a tie between Satyanarayan Agarwal and Bimal Ringansia for the post of Secretary (PRW) as both received 536 votes. The election officers called for recounting were Satyanarayan Agarwal won with a single vote. The work of counting of votes was done by 12 in the night but situation got worsened after demand of recounting started.

SDO reached the venue at 1.30 am minutes after Suresh Sonthalia came to Chamber Bhawan. Soon SDO ordered the outsiders to vacate the Chamber Bhawan and seeing uproar police resorted to Lathi charge.

The results were announced at 2 am on Wednesday were Team Suresh Sonthalia members Bharat Vasani, Shrawan Kabra and Sudhir Singh demanded recounting but no decision was taken.

Reacting on his win, Suresh Sonthalia who has been elected the President for a record second time said, candidates should introduce themselves by showing solidarity towards the representatives instead of blusterer.

He thanked the members who expressed confidence in him and reelected him the President and assured the traders of solving pending issues.

NEW TEAM of Singhbhum Chamber

President-Suresh Sonthalia
General Secretary- Prabhakar Singh
VP (Industries)-Ashok Bhalotia,
VP (Tax & Fin.)-Manav Kedia
VP (Trade & Commerce) – Nand Kishore Agarwal
VP (PRW)-Vijay Anand Moonka (Unopposed)
Treasurer- Dinesh Choudhary
Secretary (Industries) – Punit Kauntia
Secretary (Tax & Fin.)- Dilip Kumar Golecha
Secretary (Trade)- Nitesh Dhoot
Secretary (PRW) – Satyanarayan Agarwal

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles