Saturday, June 10, 2023

Sunil Bhaskaran chosen President of Jharkhand Archery Association


Jamshedpur, June 30: Amid slight hullabaloo, Sunil Bhaskaran, Vice-President (Corporate Services) Tata Steel was appointed as the President of Jharkhand Archery Association during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held at JRD Tata Sports Complex on Tuesday.

Former Chief Minister Arjun Munda was made the Patron amid the buzz that the BJP leader is joining the fray for the post of president.

Three Sr. Vice-President Posts were filled by Bailey Bodhanwalla, Navin Kumar Sankusore and the proposed name of Ajay Kumar Singh.

The AGM held after 6 years saw a bit of uproar in deciding the name of the Secretary were Charles Borromeo, Head Sports Tata Steel, Ajay Singh from Bokaro and SC Mohanty from Seraikela were in the fray while some objected, Charles was Consensus appointed the Secretary of the Association.

Though the term is for four years, Charles Borromeo has 13 months of service left with Tata Steel. K.S. Narayan was made the Treasurer of the Association.

Newly elected Secretary of the Association said that the One Sr. Vice-President, three Vice-Presidents and Five Assistant Secretaries posts will be offered to the district association but they announced the proposed names on all the nine posts.

According to the Secretary Borromeo Md. ZubirAlam, Mr. L. Murty and K. N. Singh name was proposed for Vice-President�s posts while S.C. Mohanty, Purnima Mahato, Manoj Kumar, Rajwansh Singh and Md. Sujauddin were proposed for Assistant Secretaries. During the annual meeting Sanjiv Paul, former President of the Association and MD of Tata Metaliks stepped down from the executive committee and was given a warm send-off.

�Earlier Sanjiv Paul was the VP Tata Steel and was living in Jamshedpur but with his posting in Kharagpur it�s not possible for him to manage the activities from Bengal and he decided to step down from his position�, said Bailey Bodhanwalla, Sr. VP of the Association. During the AGM 9 of the 11 affiliated districts participated while 8 Archery units were present during the meet.

Talking about the delay in AGM which was last held in 2008 and was scheduled for 2012 but took place in 2015, Bailey Bodhanwalla said that 2008-12 committee was headed by Sanjiv Paul and Secretary at that time was Sanjiv Singh and it may be a matter of negligence but we assure to bring back the pride of the association with full sincerity. He further informed that the meeting went off smoothly and it was because we made sure that eligible people should be present at the AGM.

Newly appointed Secretary Charles said that it�s a new beginning and we will have to start from the scratch.

�Priority will be given to district associations but first we will have to take stock of the situation all over the state. We will also start district championships and we will make sure that the shine of the Archery Association is brought back�.

Khurshid Khan of Jharkhand Olympic Association and R. K Bali from Archery Association of India were present as the observers.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles