Wednesday, December 8, 2021

SR Rungta District Cricket League begins: CCC beats G and S Club Barajamda by 6 wickets

Chaibasa, Oct 27: The 28th SR Rungta District Cricket League (B-Division) began today under the aegis of West Singhbhum District Cricket Association. Team Chakradharpur Cricket Academy (CCC) defeated Gope and Singh Club Barajamda by 5 wickets in a one-sided match to earn 4 points.

In the match played at the Birsa Munda Cricket Stadium ground, captain of Chakradharpur Cricket Academy won the toss and decided to field first. Batting first, G&S Club Barajamda scored 121 runs in the stipulated 30 overs for the loss of 9 wickets. Dheeraj Kumar scored 42 runs including nine fours, while Yash Mukhi contributed 15 runs, Shobhit Mishra scored 12 and Ayush Sharma contributed 10 runs. For CCA Chakradharpur, Vijender Kumar took two wickets giving away just 9 runs, Gaurav Singh took two wickets giving away 30 runs and Md. Ekram, Vivek Paswan and Shubhodeep Mukherjee took one wicket each.

Chasing 122 runs in stipulated 30 overs, team Chakradharpur Cricket Academy achieved the target in 21 overs with 6 wickets remaining. Devmalya Ghosh played an important role in the team’s victory by scoring 57 unbeaten runs with the help of seven fours and three sixes. N Mani Shankar scored 25 runs off 33 balls with the help of five fours and Ankit Singh scored 23 not out including two fours and supported Devmalya Ghosh during the innings.

Bowling for G and S Club Badajamda, Vivek Ranjan Chowdhury took two wickets for 28 runs and NM Rahul and Awadhesh Kumar took one wicket each.

Earlier, the tournament was inaugurated by Sadar Sub-Divisional Officer Shashindra Kumar Badaik. He was introduced to the players of both the teams. After the flag hoisting, he announced the formal start of the competition. Asim Kumar Singh, General Secretary of the District Cricket Association was also present.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles