Saturday, March 6, 2021

Shuttlers smash to victory in ASISC Badminton Tournament

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Jamshedpur : Around 100 shuttlers displayed their prowess in the ASISC Zonal Badminton Tournament 2016 organised by Kerala Public School, Mango on Monday.

The two-day event was played in two categories juniors and seniors. Over 12 schools of Jamshedpur participated in the event at the badminton Training center, JRD Tata Sports Complex on August 22 and 23. Five officials took part in this grand event.

Mukul Choudhari , administrator, TFA and Sports, inaugurated the event by lighting the auspicious lamp. Among the other dignitaries present on the opening day were Alka Sinha, principal Kerala Public School, Mango and Vivek Sharma, Badminton Coach, JRD Tata Sports Complex. Performance was the key for the shuttlers for getting slots in the next round to be held in Dhanbad.

Matches in the junior categories were played on a knock-out basis between 12 different schools out of which four semi- finalists were selected.

In the Juniors Singles Category:-BOYS- Raunak Negi from KPS Mango (Winner) Raj Kumar Singh Sardar from Narbheram Hansraj Eng School (Runners Up). GIRLS- Shalini Maurya from JH Tarapore (Winner) Anushka Parmar from Loyola (Runners Up). In Junior Doubles Category BOYS- Arihan Parikh and Raghav Kabra from Loyola (Winners) Anurah Sharma and Mansharan Singh from DBMS (Runners Up).

GIRLS- Shreya Kumari and Anisha Mishra from Loyola (Winners) Alina Hussain and Vanisha Agarwal from DBMS (Runners Up). The second day of the tournament started with the senior category matches.

In the seniors Singles Category:-BOYS- Nishit Anand from Loyola (Winner) Kunal from K.P.S. Kadma, (Runners Up). GIRLS- Anwesha from Loyola (Winner) Shahina Qaiser from D.B.M.S (Runners Up).

In Senior Doubles Category BOYS- Nitin Moonka and Prashant Kumar from K.S.M.S (Winners) Soumick Das and Harshit Gupta from Carmel Junior College (Runners Up). GIRLS- Harsha Sharma and Himanshi Agarwal from D.B.M.S (Winners) Apurva Gupta and Sweta Ghosh from Carmel Junior College (Runners Up).

The awards were distributed by the Guest of Honour Rotarian Captain Manish Kumar. The other dignitaries present were Sharat Chandran, Director Kerala Public School and Mrs Alka Sinha, Principal, Kerala Public School Mango. The two day event ended with the National Anthem.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles