Saturday, December 2, 2023

Several BJP activists injured in lathicharge during protest

Ranchi: Several Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) leaders and activists were injured in a lathicharge by police during the pre-planned protest programme of the party before the Jharkhand Assembly on Tuesday.

Hundreds of party activists led by state BJP president Dr Ravindra Rai gathered at Birsa Chowk and marched towards the Assembly to protest alleged failure of the state government on various fronts. They were stopped near DPS School where police had barricaded the main road and deployed a large number of jawans to prevent the protestors from going ahead with their agitation.

Within less than half an hour, the protestors dispersed from the spot. Many of them were injured in the lathicharge and firing of tear gas shells. State BJP in-charge Vinod Pandey, Dr Ravindra Kumar Rai, Arjun Munda, former Union minister Yashwant Sinha, Raghuvar Das and Saryu Roy too, suffered jolts of the mob.

One of the protestors, Sanjay Kumar Ram, was injured when a tear gas shell hit him. He sustained burn injuries in his hands and other body parts. He was taken to Devkamal Hospital.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles