Sunday, May 29, 2022

Series of events mark World Anglo Indian Day in Jamshedpur

Jamshedpur, Aug. 5: The All India Anglo Indian Association, Jamshedpur Branch celebrated World Anglo Indian Day on 5th August at a city hotel. The function started with a Fancy Dress Competition by the students of the Anglo Indian Community. The tiny tots were dressed as Fairies, Mangoes, Rana Pratap, Neil o Brien, Inspector, French Fries, Chota Bheem etc.

Prizes were given to the winners. In the junior category, Nelyn Daunt and Avion Williams won the 1st Prize, Ayden Daunt & Alana White won the 2nd prize while Sarah Mutoo received the 3rd Prize.

In the senior category-Darren Dalby & Shania Sandys, Rishona Alberts & Conelius Chapman, Jaden Das & Amanda White won the 1st, 2nd & 3rd prizes respectively. A round of Housie was also held on this occasion. The function was attended by a large group of people from the community which was followed by a sumptuous dinner.

Earlier in the day, the Community Centre toilet, deep boring pump, a submersible pump and a storage tank was inaugurated by Glenn Galstaun, MLA Jharkhand at the St. Josephís Welfare Centre, Golmuri, Jamshedpur. Fr. Alphonse, Director, St. Josephís Welfare Center, Golmuri, Jamshedpur welcomed the guests and thanked Galstaun for his recommendation in getting the project completed through his MLA Fund. The members present on the occasion included the President of The All India Anglo Indian Association, Jamshedpur Branch Nevada Dalby, Vice President Garvin Waters, Treasurer Marvin Moss, Conrad David, Maryanne Ekka and Ritesh Alberts.

In his address to the members of the community, Galstaun praised the contribution of the anglo Indians in the field of education & advised them to ensure that the children acquired quality education for their successful future. Later in the evening he joined them at the World Anglo Indian Day celebration.

The children who secured outstanding results were also felicitated by Galstaun with scholarships received from the All India Anglo Indian Association, New Delhi. The Vote of thanks was extended by Garvin Waters, the Vice President of the branch.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles