Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Ranji Trophy: Rameez takes hosts to 233/5 on Day 1


Jharkhand v Vidarbha
, Dec 22: A brilliant knock by in-form opener Rameez Nimat (85) and his 91-run first wicket stand with Bhavik Thaker (23) steered hosts Jharkhand to a decent 233 for five on the opening day of their Group A Ranji tie against Vidarbha, on Sunday.

At close, skipper Shahbaz Nadeem was batting on 37 and giving him copmpnay was Kumar Deobrat (9) at Keenan Stadium.
Elected to bat, Jharkhand suffered an early jolt when opener Subroto Ghosh returned without scoring after adjudged leg before off Shrikant Wagh.

Bhavik Thaker stepped in to partner Nimat, who was playing confidently at the other end, and they together stitched a 91-run first wicket partnership to rescue the team without any further damage.

Thaker, who was settled and facing the rival attack with ease, fell short of the crease while picking up a single and an accurate throw from Akshay Wakhare saw the bails uprooted.

Southpaw Saurabh Tiwary too did not last long as he spooned a catch to Sandip Singh at slip off Wakhare for ten.
Middle-order batsman Ishank Jaggi then paired with Nimat for 67-run for the fourth wicket before Wakhare struck again to have the opener leg before for 85.

Nimat struck nine fours to score 85 off 221-balls. Jaggi notched up a scintillating 52 studded with five boundaries and two sixes off 98-delivery. He though misread a delivery off Wakhare and sneaked a catch to Singh.

For Vidarbha, Wakhare emerged as the most succeessful bowler, grabbing three wickets for 59 runs.

Ranji Trophy: Yuvraj Singh scores a duck as Delhi skittle out Punjab for 74�with above
Lokesh Rahul’s 120 helps Karnataka fight the odds against Mumbai—with above
Pankaj Singh scalps four, Tamil Nadu recover to 231/5 on Day 1 vs Rajasthan—with above

Brief scores:
Karnataka 228 for 7 (KL Rahul 120 not out) v Mumbai in Bangalore.

Delhi 46 for 2 (Gambhir 10) v Punjab 74 (Yuvraj 0, Nehra 4-21, Bhatia 2 for 4) in Delhi.
Gujarat 287 for 3 (Parthiv 109 not out, Rao 68 not out) v Odisha in Ahmedabad.

Jharkhand 233 for 5 (Nemat 85, Tiwary 10, Wakhare 3-59) v Vidarbha in Jamshedpur.

Group B
Baroda 348 for 5 (Wakaskar 128, Waghmode 94, Irfan 37) v Saurashtra in Rajkot.

Tamil Nadu 231 for 5 (Badrinath 50, Prasanna 56 not out, Vijay Shankar 57 not out, Pankaj 4-41) v Rajasthan in Chennai.

Madhya Pradesh 4 for 0 v UP 250 (Raina 1, Parvinder 72, Dwivedi 80 not out, Datey 3-48) in Kanpur.
Railways 85 for 5 (Khan 2-14) v Services in Delhi.

Group C
Goa 6 for 0 v Kerala 273 (Manoharan 87, Surendran 84, Baby 54, Jakati 3-62) in Porvorim.
Jammu and Kashmir chose to field v Hyderabad in Jammu (No play possible).

Maharashtra 15 for 0 v Himachal 228 (Rishi Dhawan 6, Fallah 3-48) in Pune.

Tripura 165 for 9 (Vijaykumar 4-34) v Andhra in Agartala.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles