Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Raghunath Pandey wins fourth term as Jusco Union President

Jamshedpur, Jan 11:Raghunath Pandey has been elected President of the Jusco Shramik Union to an unprecedented fourth term in office.

Two other top posts the working committee president and general secretary were clinched by the opposition. VD Gopal Krishna was elected the general secretary while YP Singh was made the working committee president.

Team Raghunath won several other posts where PN Singh was elected as the treasurer. The four posts of the vice-president were won by Amarnath Tewary, CDM Krishnan, BK Sharma and Arun Kumar Singh. For the three posts of assistant secretary Kamlesh Kumar Singh, Shrikant Dev and GP Mahato were the winners. One of the close aids of Raghunath Pandey, SL Das the contender for the general secretary post, lost the election while Pandey’s chief strategists BK Dubey won the deputy president post.

Jusco Shramik Union election was held in two phase after which the counting began. The nearest rival to Raghunath Pandey for the president’s post DK Singh lost by 235 votes. Total 741 members casted their votes to elect the President of which 14 votes were rejected. Raghunath Pandey got 481 votes while DK Singh managed 246 votes. For the post of general secretary VD Gopal Krishnan defeated his nearest rival and former general secretary SL Das by 21 votes. Total of 752 members casted their votes for the post of general secretary of which 9 votes were rejected. VD Gopal Krishnan received 382 votes while SL Das got 361 votes.

Later talking to the media persons, DK Singh who lost to Raghunath Pandey said, ‘We have fought a battle with an influential person and it doesn’t matter if we have it. People in large number have supported us and we want to thank all the voters and workers who have voted for us’. Singh further said that we would continue our fight in the court. The employees of the company have elected 23 committee members of Jusco Shramik Union.

The elected for the committee members was held in the morning while results were declared in the evening. The counting of votes started at Jusco office premises amid high security.

The voting for 22 out of the 23 committee members was held at Jusco office premises while a candidate was elected unopposed for one seat. The employees voted amid high security arrangements and counting of votes started after the voting got over at 5 pm. For the committee members’ election, nine different counters were set up and three election officials were present at each counter.

After the election results were out, Raghunath Pandey who was elected the president for the fourth time addressed the media. ‘My main focus would be to complete all the pending work of the workers and would try to start the medical extension work’, said Pandey, adding, ‘we will work together as a team with the other elected office bearers and would also take the support of the people who have lost the election for the smooth functioning of the union’.

General Secretary VD Gopal Krishna said, all the employees are waiting for LTC and conveyance allowance and it’s our responsibility to work together with the elected office bearers. ‘Grade mapping of new trained employees is pending and will ensure they get it at the earliest’, added Krishna.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles