Friday, December 1, 2023

NASI announces ‘Best Science Teacher Award’ in Jharkhand

Jamshedpur, Feb. 27: The Jharkhand Chapter of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) jointly with CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur will be celebrating the National Science Day on 27th February 2018.

Celebration of National Science Day, commemorates the announcement of the discovery of the Raman Effect by Sir C.V. Raman for which he was Awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930. The National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), established in 1930 being the oldest science academy of India is known for its contributions in the field of science in general and science for society in particular.

The Jharkhand State Chapter of NASI, established in 2014 and inaugurated by one of the great space scientist of India, Dr. K Kasturirangan, has been active in the state through its different programs aiming at motivating students for science and also motivating and recognizing the contributions made by science teachers in the state, along with women empowerment through science and technology intervention.

In recent times through its program entitled Vigyan Diwali, chapter has interacted and motivated more than 8000 students of Jharkhand state both in urban and rural area.

Recognizing the contributions of a science teacher in cultivating the interest for science in young brains and motivating them to have a scientific temperament, Jharkhand Chapter of NASI has instituted Best Science Teacher Award in 2017.

Previous year, this award was only for Jamshedpur region, but in 2018 the award has been open for the entire state of Jharkhand. To give away the awards for previous academic year, the nominations from school were invited in November 2017 under two categories, namely TGT and PGT.

A total 27 nominations were received 13 under PGT category and 14 under TGT. Nominations were received from the different districts of the state, namely East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum, Ranchi and Deoghar. An expert committee evaluated the nominations and recommended following four teachers (two in each category) for the award: Bibhuti Nath Jha , Jawahar Vidya Mandir Ranchi (PGT), Sangeeta Chatrath, Little Flower School, Jamshedpur (PGT), Manoj Kumar Singh, Upper Middle School, Potka (TGT) and Amod Mishra, Upper High School Chaibasa (TGT).

Each awardee will receive a cash prize worth Rupees Ten Thousand and a citation, during the National Science Day function at NML on Feb 27, 2018. Prof Murali Sastry, Chief Executive Officfer of IIT Bombay-Monash Research Academy will be the Chief Guest and program will be chaired by Dr I. Chattoraj, Director NML. It is expected that about 200-250 students of science and engineering will visit CSIR-NML on this day.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles