Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Move to help slum dwellers construct toilets at home

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Jamshedpur, Feb. 7: The central working committee of the Basti Vikas Samiti’s held a meeting at the Agrico Club House under the chairmanship of Chandrasekhar Mishra on Sunday. Chief Minister Raghubar Das was present at the meeting as the special guest.

The meeting aimed at providing basic facilities to the residents of the busti areas in the steel city. It also aimed to strengthen the organization and help the government schemes reach the masses.

Addressing the gathering, Das said, “Basti Vikas Samiti is a non-government organization and the people associated with it should mainly focus on public interest.”

He said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged the people of the country to carry forward the Swachta Abhiyan and has pledged to make India clean by the year 2019. This will only be possible if all the states of the country become clean.

“Jharkhand government has initiated a move to make the state clean by 2018, wherein every single person of the state should contribute. The state government is providing funds to the poor people to help them construct toilets in their homes,” Das said, adding, ‘Basti Vikas Samiti activists should inform about the same to the people of slum areas.”

Talking about the working of the Basti Vkas Samiti, CM said that there is a bit of slackness that needs to be removed. He appealed the members to launch a membership drive and strengthen the samiti.

During the meet it was unanimously decided to launch membership drive within three months and restructure the organization. It was also decided to start Swachta Abhiyan in the local bastis.

Chandrasekhar Mishra said that the main outcome of the meeting was to undertake surveys in basti areas, mostly slums, and prepare a list within 15 days and submit it to the district administration with a view to construct toilets in people houses.

Rambabu Tiwary, Mithilesh Singh Yadav, Khemlal Choudhary, Gurudev Singh Raja, Kulwant Singh, Kamlesh Singh, Upendra Singh, Boltu Sarkar, Dinesh kumar, Manoj Pathak, Ajay Singh, Dinesh Singh, Praveen Chatterjee, Sriram Prasad, Sanjeev Singh, Ruby Jha, Pushpalata Devi and others were present at the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles