Friday, January 28, 2022

Loyola School ace Frank Anthony debate at MNPS

Jamshedpur: Motilal Nehru Public School (MNPS) hosted the Frank Anthony Memorial All-India Inter School Debate Competition 2018 ó Category I (classes XI ó XII), Stage I, on Wednesday morning. The moderator for the debate was Neena Mathur, alumni of Loreto Convent, Lucknow. Teacher Neena has been teaching English since 1989; she is an ardent reader and an enthusiastic teacher.

The topic for the debate was: “A healthy mind in a healthy body is not being encouraged in our schools”. The topic was read out to the students and were given an hour to prepare.

The Judges for the event were Gloria Prabal – Former Principal of St. Thomas Day School, Kolkata, former inspector for affiliation in ICSE and ISC schools. Varsha Chand, President of Rotary Club, Jamshedpur West, Souvik Saha, founder trustee member of the NGO ‘People for Change’

Students from 10 schools including Carmel School, Dhanbad, Mt. Assisi School, Bhagalpur, De Souza’s School, Rourkela, along with Vig English School, Loyola School, Sacred Heart Convent, ADLS Sunshine, J.H Tarapore School, Rajendra Vidyalaya and Dayanand Public School from Jamshedpur.

Best Speaker award was bagged by Aditya Nath and the first runner-up speaker was Agnidh Ghosh. Loyola School was crowned the winner followed by Carmel Junior College.

Earlier, General Secretary of MNPS School managing committee Dr. D.P. Shukla blessed the participants and wished them luck. The debate commenced at 10:30. It was a battle of words, where students came up with their arguments and rational thoughts. The rebuttal round was just amazing, to see how children baffled the fellow participants with their questioning.

The judges were enthralled to see the firmness with which each student stood ‘for’ or ‘against’ the motion. The quality of speech was way beyond the expectations of the judges, and what was most remarkable was the energy and confidence with which each child spoke. They indeed had a tough time scoring the speakers. Nevertheless the House believed that the children indeed had a healthy mind in a healthy body, because this was the sole reason for the students being so energetic and rational at the same time.

Certificates of Merit were awarded by Chairman Akhilesh Dubey and Principal Ashu Tiwary. The winning team and the 1st runner-up team have qualified for stage II (Selection Stage).

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles