Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Innocent villagers need not panic: Potka MLA tells Jadugora residents

Jamshedpur, June 1: Potka MLA Menka Sardar and district BJP president Dinesh Kumar today assured the residents of Kuldiya and Dudhaku villages under Jadugora PS that no action would be taken against them in connection with the lynching of two persons by a mob of local villagers recently.

Addressing the villagers at a public meeting convened with the purpose to remove fear from their minds, the MLA said the police will not be allowed to victimize innocent villagers in the name of investigation. She said the villagers should not be afraid of police action.

The villagers told the legislator they were being allegedly forced by the local police officials to make confessionary statements in connection with the lynching incident. They also said that a majority of male members in a large number of families were forced to stay away fearing police action.

Assuring the villagers of justice, the BJP president said he would take up the issue with the senior police officials and appeal to them not to take action against innocent people.

The villagers said many of the households in the villages had not witnessed cooking in their kitchens since the day the lynching.

Earlier, several BJP leaders reached Jadugora PS and expressed anger over the way police were handling the investigation into recent lynching incidents. The BJP president said, �If police has some video or footage showing involvement of certain villagers, they should make it public so that the culprits may be prosecuted. We will help police nab the culprits. But police cannot be allowed to make guesses in such a serious case.�

Later, it was decided to organize a coordination meeting in the local villages in the presence of the Potka MLA, BJP President and other party leaders and senior police officials.

Also present on the occasion, DSP Ajit Kumar Vimal said no arresting would be made till the proposed meeting was held.
Among others present during today�s meeting included Chandrashekhar Gupta, Ankit Anand, Amarjeet Singh Raja, Uttam Bhagat, Pradip Sarangi, Dhanuram Singh, Babloo Bhagat, Santosh Bhanj, Girish Singh and Rohit Singh.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles