Monday, May 16, 2022

Five women receive Bhanumathi Neelakantan Awards

Jamshedpur, May 6: Like every year, Bhanumathi Neelakantan Awards were given away at function organised by Bhanumathi Neelakantan Award and Aid Trust of Jamshedpur.

Five women ‘ Ms. BasantiHansda, Ms. Nitu Mahato, Singo Mardi, Sarothi Hembram and Kanchan Bhumij’ were recognised for their rare accomplishments at the 21st Bhanumathi Neelakantan Awards ceremony held at the DBMS School here on Tuesday evening.

The awards were given in the following five categories – Differently-abled women, women entrepreneur, outstanding sports women, outstanding student of std XII and women working for social awareness among her economically backward society. The awardees were given cash prizes and cheques, a certificate and prizes in kind.

Mrs. Parul Singh, B.D.O., East Singhbhum presided over the function as a   Chief Guest.  She admired the efforts of NGO “Bhanumathi Neelakantan Awards” and also appreciated the efforts of Mrs. B. Neelakantan for her contribution to the society.  In her speech she motivated the awardees.

The chief Guest gave mementoes to the five awardees.  Mrs. B. Neelakantan – Chairperson – Bhanumathi Neelakantan Awards presented the Certicates and a Cheque of Rs. 10,000/- to each awardee.  This year the awards also recognized the efforts of the six girls from the underprivileged section who have just completed their Matriculation through the NIOS Board and   are   ready to take their first step into a College.  

They were awarded cash awards for their College education and this amount will continue to be given to them for the next two years to complete their degree.  This year 14 students from the previous  2  batches  and  six from  the current batch will receive  monetary help.   

Chairman DBMS B Neelakantan in her speech motivated the awardees and the women of Jharkhand will be inspired by these awardees. Also present during the function were Mrs. Kalyani Govindarajan, Secretary, DBMS Baking Cell, Mrs. Rajani Shekhar Principal DBMS English School, Mrs. Lakshmi Varadarajan – President of the Bhanumathi Neelakantan Awards and others. The program concluded with prayer song sung by the students of D. B. M. S. Kadma High School students. Vote of thanks presented by Mrs. Prema Mohan.  

Every  year,    nominations  are  invited  from  Educationists,  Educational  Administrators and institutions  of  repute  engaged in educational, cultural and social welfare work. 

No direct or self sponsored applications are accepted.  The  deserving  candidates  are  then   short  listed  after  scrutinising the  applications  and   the awards are  finalised   based  on  personal interviews with the candidates and their sponsors.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles