Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Bishwam Ghosh captures Tata Steel Golmuri Juniors

Jamshedpur, April 2: Bishwam Ghosh strolled to an eight stroke victory despite carding a ten-over 81 for the final round at the Tata Steel Golmuri Juniors which concluded at the Par- 71 Golmuri Golf Course.

His nearest challenger Gurshaan Singh Grewal posted the best score of the day with a five-over 77 to finish second at a gross of 164 ahead of Manish Manish Rajak, also of Kolkata, by one stroke.

Jashan Shah (174) and Soham Dey (175) completed the top five. Bishwam, riding on a six stroke overnight lead began with a couple of regulation pars before he dropped strokes on the third, fifth, sixth, seventh and ninth holes and in between gained a stroke on the fourth hole.

He gained another on the tenth hole with a birdie 3 to lead the field by a massive thirteen strokes by then. He closed out with a par on the Par 5 18th hole for a winning gross of fourteen-over 156. “It is my first victory at this level and it feels very good”, said the winner. He added, “I hope to give my best performance in the National Tour”.  

Category C was won by local lad Pratham Choudhary who also strolled to an eventual nine stroke win with a gross of 166. Kolkata’s Souvik Nayak pipped city mate Kaushal Bagrodia to the second place by a stroke. Vidyul Maittani won the Girls Category C title with a round of 114 and a gross of 224. Garv Lakhmani shot an identical 87 for the second round running as he beat Suveer Kapoor by five strokes to take home the Category D title while homegrown Tanisha took home the Girls Category D title.

Top Scores – Final: In Category A & B were 156 Bishwam Ghosh (75,81); 164 Gurshaan Singh Grewal (87,77); 165 Manish Rajak (81,84); 174 Jashan Shah (82,92); 175 Soham Dey (87,88).

In category C: 166 Pratham Choudhary (83,83); 175 Souvik Nayak (86,89); 176 Kaushal Bagrodia (89,87); 177 Arav Sanghavi (88,89); 185 Anish Rajak (89,96). In category D: 174 Garv Lakhmani (87,87); 179 Suveer Kapoor (91,88); 207 Subham Adak (105,102).

In Girls: 194 Sara Muthedah (B) (99,95), 224 Vidyul Maittani (C) (110,114); 265 Ishika Bhowmick (131,134), 226 Tanisha (D) (111,115).

In Category E: 108 Rishi Biswas (56,52); 115 Anshul Mishra (60,55)   . Present during the prize distribution were Tarun Daga, MD Tinplate Company; Charles Borromeo Head (Sports) Tata Steel; Alan Singh, Tata Steel Golf Training Centre coach; and Farzan Heerjee, Chief, Guest Relations and Sports, Tata Steel.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles