Wednesday, February 8, 2023

4 Jamshedpur FC players in probable India squad for AFC Asian Cup qualifier


Constantine announces 34-man squadfor camp to be held in Chennai

New Delhi/Jamshedpur, July 31: Indian national team coach Stephen Constantine has announced a 34-member probable squad for the upcoming AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 qualifiers fixture against Macau. Four players signed by Jamshedpur Football Club (FC) during the Indian Super league (ISL) players draft held in Mumbai on July 23 have been included in the Indian squad for the AFC Asian Cup qualifier.

The Jamshedpur FC players include- Goalkeeper Subrata Paul, defender Anas Edathodika, midfielder Bikash Jairu and forward Sumeet Passi.

The Indian football team will be camping in Chennai prior to the 2019 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers fixture, which is scheduled for September 5, with five new faces being called. After back-to-back wins against Myanmar and the Kyrgyz Republic in the first two fixtures, India will fly to Macau for their third game of the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 Qualifiers Group A match. The boys would be assembling in Chennai on August 11.

It will be the first senior national team camp for Sarthak Golui, Davinder Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Anirudh Thapa and Manvir Singh who showed their grit in the recently-concluded AFC U23 Championship Qualifiers in Doha. Out of the 34 players who are called upon by Stephen Constantine for the forthcoming camp, there are 10 players who have donned the National colours in the recent AFC U23 Championship Qualifiers in Doha.

The list of probables are- Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Albino Gomes, Vishal Kaith, TP Rehenesh. Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Sandesh Jhingan, Arnab Mondal, Anas Edathodika, Narayan Das, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Lalruatthara, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sarthak Golui, Davinder Singh.
Midfielders: Dhanapal Ganesh, Jackichand Singh, Seityasen Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Bikash Jairu, Milan Singh, Udanta Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Md. Rafique, Rowllin Borges, Halicharan Narzary, Germanpreet Singh, Anirudh Thapa.

Forwards: Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi, Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Balwant Singh, Manvir Singh.

India is at the top of the group table. Another away win against Macau will take them a step closer to qualification for the main competition.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles