Monday, May 29, 2023

Voting underway in Alapur constituency of UP


Lucknow, March 9 (IANS) Brisk voting was reported on Thursday for the lone Uttar Pradesh assembly seat of Alapur, which was left in the polling process that ended on Wednesday.

Voting for the seat, falling in Ambedkar Nagar, was deferred after the Samajwadi Party candidate Chandra Shekhar Kanaujia died after a cardiac arrest.

Voting crossed 30 per cent in the first few hours and long queues were seen at most polling stations.

Polling here was scheduled in the fifth phase on February 27 but was deferred for March 9.

Samajwadi Party has now fielded Sangeeta Kanaujia, widow of the late candidate.

Anita Kamal is the BJP candidate and BSP has fielded Tribhuvan Dutt, who was the local legislator in 2007.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati has also been a legislator from here once.

Votes of Alapur will be counted on March 11, with other 402 constituencies. Voting took place in Uttar Pradesh in seven phases – February 11, 15, 19, 23, 27 and March 4 and 8.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles