Sunday, December 10, 2023

Team R Ravi Prasad bag honour at Tata Workers Union election

R Ravi Prasad elected President for second consecutive term

Satish Kumar made general secretary

Newly elected office bearers of Tata Workers Union

President- R Ravi Prasad
Deputy President- Arvind Pandey
General Secretary- Satish Kumar Singh
Treasurer- Prabhat Lal
Vice-Presidents- Bhagwan Singh, Harishankar Singh, Shahnawaz Alam and Shatrughan Roy
Assistant Secretary- DK Upadhyay , Kamlesh Kumar Singh and Nitesh Raj

Jamshedpur, Feb. 22: R Ravi Prasad has been elected the president of Tata Workers Union for the second time in a row. Arvind Pandey will be the deputy president and Satish Kumar will hold the post of general secretary for the next three years. The election which started on Wednesday at 7 am continued till 11 am on Thursday.

The names of newly elected office bearers of Tata Workers Union were announced on Thursday morning at the Steelenium Hall inside the Tata Steel works. Of the 11 new office bearers, 10 are from the ruling R Ravi Prasad faction while from Team Parivartan only Harishankar Singh bagged the vice-president’s post.

The deputy president post which was of high octane battle was won by Arvind Pandey (114 votes) who defeated Sanjeev Kumar Choudhary (96 votes) who held the post in the previous term by 18 votes. But in the top two posts team Parivartan lost by a huge margin.

The President’s post candidate R Ravi Prasad (156votes) beat Arun Singh (56 votes) by 100 votes and general secretary post candidate Satish defeated RC Jha by a margin of 70 votes. As the results were announced, the winning side lead by R Ravi Prasad started the celebration and Holi came a week before for the winning candidates as smeared colours on each other to rejoice a comfortable win over team parivartan.

Winning only a single post of vice-president, team parivartan members looked despondent and left the Steelenium Hall by shaking hands against each other.

As the newly elected team of Tata Workers Union came out of Steelenium Hall, the supporters started shouting slogans and welcomed the office bearers. The team led by R Ravi Prasad directly headed towards the Tata Workers Union office in Bistupur and paid floral tributes to former TWU president VG Gopal.

The supporters in large numbers had gathered at the union office and welcomed the winning team with a massive flower garland. Later all the office bearers left for their homes where their family members and relatives accorded a warm welcome.
It may be noted that the Biennial elections to Tata Workers’ Union (TWU) witnessed the participation of 13,060 employees at 134 locations inside the Tata Steel works on Wednesday, February 21.

Polling through secret ballot began at 7am and continued till 3pm. Counting of polls started around 5.30pm and continued till late night on February 21. The elected committee members on Thursday morning selected 11 office-bearers namely one president, general secretary, deputy president and treasurer, four vice-presidents and three assistant secretaries. Returning officer S.K. Singh along with a six-member sub-committee ensured free and fair polls.

Established in 1920, the Tata Workers’ Union (TWU) is one of the oldest and richest unions of the country and has been represented by iconic leader Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose in the early years of its formation.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles