Monday, February 6, 2023

Teachers felicitated on National Science Day at NML Jamshedpur


Jamshedpur, Feb 26: CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur jointly with The Jharkhand Chapter of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) celebrated the National Science Day with great pomp and show.

Dr. Rajendra Joshi, Founder and CEO, RI Instruments & Innovation Pvt Ltd, and Managing Director RINZTECH NZ LTD, New Zealand was the Chief Guest of the function.  In addition to NML Scientific and technical staff more than 50 researchers participated in the programme through online platform with the direct telecast in YouTube.

While welcoming the gathering Dr. Indranil Chattoraj, Director, CSIR-NML briefed to the audience about the importance of the research work being conducted by Dr Joshi and his team towards the development of low cost instrument in our country. He mentioned about the importance of the theme of this year’s science day, which is “Future of STI: Impact on Education Skills and Work”. He was enthusiastic about revival of gatherings specifically on science day after the long dry period of COVID crisis.

While delivering the welcome address Dr. Arvind Sinha, Chairman Jharkhand Chapter of NASI, where he enumerated the different societal work NASI is engaged in across India. Dr. Sinha requested the science teachers in promoting the overall interest of students in science. He also congratulated the three winners of Best Science Teacher Award -2021.

The chief guest, Rajendra Joshi delivered the lecture on “Cost effective Raman and Fluorescence spectroscopy in India”. In his lecture, Dr. Joshi deliberated on the importance of Raman Effect and had a simplistic approach while explaining the fundamentals of Raman Effect to the audience, specially the younger ones. He emphasized on the different applications of Raman spectrometer. He elaborated on his teams work on innovations in the field of graphene oxide based biosensors.

On behalf of Jharkhand state chapter of NASI the chief guest gave away the “Best Science Teacher Award 2020-2021 for Jharkhand State to three teachers namely – Sumit Kumar Gorai (TGT) Delhi Public School Bokaro Steel City, Asheesh Mishra (PGT), Atomic Energy Central School, Jaduguda and Ramanuj Kumar (PGT), Kendriya Vidyalaya, Tatanagar.

All the three awardees gave away the brief presentation. Dr. RK Sahu, Sr. Principal Scientist, CSIR-NML, presented the vote of thanks and expressed his appreciation to all the members of the organizing team for untiring effort in making the programme a success.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles