Saturday, December 4, 2021

Tata Steel bags 19 prizes at Annual Mines Safety Week

Jharia, Jan. 30 : Jharia Division of Tata Steel along with Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) and Coal India Limited (CIL) celebrated Annual Mines Safety Week under the aegis of Directorate General Mines Safety (DGMS), Central Zone at Tata Steel Digwadih Football Ground. The event was organized on January 29, 2017.

The main purpose of this celebration is to involve all mine owners and employees to work towards improving safe work practices and to significantly reduce accidents in mines as well as mining industry as a whole.

Prasanta Kumar Sarkar, Deputy Director General, Headquarter, DGMS inaugurated the event in the presence of Mr Gopal Singh, Chairman cum Managing Director, BCCL; Mr G L Kanta Rao, Dy. Director General Electrical, DGMS; Mr Sanjibon Ray, Dy Director General (CZ), DGMS; Mr Kalyan Maity, Director (Raw Materials), SAIL; Mr D Gangopadhayay, Director, Technical (Project & Planning) , BCCL; Mr Sanjay Rajoria, General Manager, Jharia Division, Tata Steel; Mr Santosh Mahato, Regional Secretary, Rastriya Colliery Mazdoor Sangh (RCMS) and Mr S S Zama, Regional President (RCMS).
The event was flagged off with safety flag hoisting by the Chief Guest which was followed by inspection of 25 stalls put up various mining divisions of Tata Steel, CIL and SAIL along with vendor partners exhibiting best safety practices and safety equipment.

A total of 156 prizes were presented under different categories by the dignitaries on the occasion.
In totality Tata Steel bagged 19 prizes in various categories.

Contemporary Kathak by the students of Jamshedpur School of Art and Skit on ‘Road Safety’ by the students of Tata DAV Public School, Jamadoba won the hearts of the dignitaries along with more than 3000 visitors who attended the event.
Speaking about his goal of achieving zero harm, Mr Sarkar said: “When safety is the foremost agenda, 90% of the job is already done. Systematic approach and the right attitude can help us achieve Zero Harm”.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Rajoria said: “there is a lot that needs to be done in mining companies to improve safety, ergonomics and productivity of workers. Safety is an integral part of any business today. It is a journey which has to be covered by all of us together”.

In Group ‘A’ (Having production above 60, 000 tonnes per year) Moonidih, BCCL was the winner while Sijua Colliery , Tata Steel was the runner-up.

In Group ‘B’ ((Having production less than 60, 000 tonnes per year) Jogidih, BCCL bagged the first prize while KB 10/12 Pits, BCCL was second.

In Group ‘C’ (Underground with OCP mines) Basanti Mata Dahibari, BCCL was the winner while Tetulmari, BCCL was runner-up.

In Group ‘D’ – OC- New Godhar Kusunda, BCCL was the winner while Rajapur, OCP, BCCL was the runner-up.

Among others present on the occasion were consultative committee members, safety board members, welfare board members, union representatives, General Managers, Agents, officers, workmen inspectors and workers of various mining companies.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles