Tuesday, December 5, 2023

South Eastern Railway notifies new stoppages for two trains

Mail News Service

Jamshedpur, Feb. 13: In view of passengers demand, the South Eastern Railway ( SER) today notified new stoppages for two trains.

As per the directives, the Hatia-Puri Tapaswani Express will stop for one minute at Kalunga station from tomorrow while the Rourkela-Koraput Express will stop same duration at Rajgangpur from February 15.

Both, Kalunga and Rajgangpur railway stations fall between Rourkela and Jharsuguda railway section of Chakradharpur division. According to a railway schedule the 18451 Hatia-Puri Tapaswini Express will depart Kalunga station at 7.33 pm after a one minute halt while the return train-18452- will depart Kalunga at 7.12 am. The 18107 Rourkela-Koraput Express will leave Rajgangpur railway station at 6.36 pm after a one minute halt while the return train -18108 will depart Rajgangpur station at 5.41 am.

“In view the long standing demands of passengers the decision has been taken. Both the trains are important as passengers from wide cross-section travel on these trains. The stoppages at both the stations would be on an experimental basis,” said an official of South Eastern Railway.

Chakradharpur is the highest revenue earning railway division in terms of freight in the country. Notably, about 150 passenger trains pass through various stations of Chakradharpur railway division every day. The Tatanagar station assumes importance in view because it is located on the Howrah-Mumbai main route. Several important trains travel via Tatanagar, including the high-profile Rajdhani Express and Duronto Express. The station sees a footfall of more than 60,000 passengers daily.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles