Wednesday, June 29, 2022

National Adventure Award for Premlata

New Delhi, Aug 19: Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has selected renowned mountaineer Premlata Agarwal for this year’s Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

Premlata will receive the award along with Rohan More Dattatreya, Ved Prakash Sharma and Ashok Abe from President Ramnath Kovind on the occasion of Sports Day on 29th August at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award is the highest national recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of adventure on land, sea and air. A cash award of Rs 5 lakh and a certificate of honour is given to each awardee.

This Award is at par with the Arjuna Award for sporting excellence. Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards are conferred by the President of India, along with Arjuna Awards, in a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in the month of August every year.

Premlata is the first Indian woman to scale the Seven Summits, the seven highest continental peaks of the world. She was awarded the Padma Shri by the Government of India in 2013 for her achievements in the field of Mountaineering.

On May 20, 2011, she became the oldest Indian woman to have scaled the world’s tallest peak, Mount Everest (29,029 ft.), at the age of 48 years. She also became the first person from Jharkhand state to scale Mount Everest.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles