Monday, September 25, 2023

Loyola awards 189 junior section students at annual prize night

Himalayan Paths

Jamshedpur, April 25: The 60th Annual Prize Nite for the junior section of Loyola School for the academic year 2015 � 2016 was held on Friday.

It was a formal ceremony felicitating those students who have labored hard and excelled in every sphere of school life. This year about 189 students were awarded prizes under various categories.

Smartly dressed in their uniforms, the students assembled for the academic procession and took their seats. The Lord’s blessings were invoked by a beautiful hymn sung by the junior school choir.

The master of ceremony for the evening, teacher Colleen Xavier addressed the gathering, followed by the felicitation of the two jubilarians, teacher Anita Norman and Richard Wills, followed by the prize distribution.

The honors were done by the Rector, Fr. C. L. George, the two jubilarians, the treasurer, Fr. Sushil, the administrator Br. Amal Raj as well as the coordinator Vineeta F. Ekka. The special awards were given away by the principal Fr. Sebastian Puthenpura.

The awards at the junior school level fall into five categories: the Outstanding Award is given to one student of each class for his/her exceptional performance in every sphere of school life; the Award for Academic Excellence is constituted for those excelling academically; the Award for Consistent Performance is for those who exhibit exemplary academic performance on a consistent basis round the year with diligence and sincerity; and the Student for Others Award is bestowed on one who shows exemplary concern for others.

The students were awarded rolling trophies, certificates and cash prizes under various categories such as the Proficiency Awards for Std V for their exceptional performance in English, Hindi, mathematics, computers, public speaking, Sanskrit and German. Sambhav Jha bagged prizes for English, Hindi and computers. He was also declared the best speaker for public speaking.

Amisha Sinha was awarded the Proficiency Award for Sanskrit, Vian Khemka for German and Shrish Shreyansh for mathematics .

There were also two special proficiency awards specifically for the Girl Child, which were awarded to Lakshmi Kumari of Std IV and Sabeha Firdaus of Std V. The Chitrajeet Ghosh and S. P. Dubey Memorial Awards are arguably the most coveted at the junior school level.

These are awarded to recognize two students of the senior most class who exemplify academic excellence, character, a heart for learning, and spiritual depth. They are true representatives of Loyola who manifest qualities of leadership characterized by selfless service.

The principal took great pride and pleasure in giving away the Chitrajeet Ghosh Trophy to Sambhav Jha and the S. P. Dubey Memorial Trophy to Shreyansh Choudhary. A formal vote of thanks was delivered by the principal as the annual prize night of Loyola School.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles