Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Kolhan University Students Union election: Nomination today

Jamshedpur : The nomination process for Kolhan University Students Union election will start tomorrow from 10 am to 4 pm. Scrutiny of the nomination will take place on September 17.

Kolhan University is all set for the students election second time. The election is scheduled on September 20. The campaign ends on September 19 at 4 pm.

After the first successful students� union election in September last year, the Kolhan University is confident to organise for the second election in colleges and university this year too.

The elections will be fought in 14 constituent colleges in Kolhan and at the university level. Each college will have a president, vice-president, a secretary, deputy secretary, a joint secretary and a university representative. The university representatives then will contest for the president and other posts at the university level.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Jharkhand Chhatra Morcha (JCM) and National Students Union of India (NSUI) are some of the wings of major political parties that would contest the students� election.

Kunal Sarangi, MLA from Baharagora organised a meeting last evening wherein he personally interacted with the members of Jharkhand Chhatra Morcha (JCM), the student wing of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). The MLA met the students at Circuit House and discussed the challenges.

Sarangi chalked out the strategy and also motivated girl students to contest the polls for a better future in leadership. Ankit Mahato, the JMM MLA from Silli is the official in-charge of the Kolhan University students� polls.

“There were some complaints from girls that they were being threatened not to contest by other political parties. I just motivated the girls to participate in the election. It is very important that students do take active part in university polls. We have had majority in the first elections held last year and this year too, we are sure we will have a better performance,” said the Baharagora MLA.

Last year, JCM had the highest number of winners across colleges and the university followed by few Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) candidates and independent candidates.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) too is actively involved in the election. The party had organised a meeting recently to discuss their strategy at the Chamber Bhawan in Bistupur. The ABVP, the youth wing of BJP has already released its manifesto early this week.

Dinesh Kumar, district city president, BJP out objective is to help the students wing come out with better performance. The party has deputed one in-charge in each of the colleges which will guide them in each and every step of the election.

The All Jharkhand Students Union (Ajsu) also organised a press conference at the Nirmal Mahato Guest House in Circuit House Area. The political party along with its youth wing released its candidates list today. Jugsalai MLA, Ramchandra Sahis was also present in the press meet today.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles