Tuesday, March 28, 2023

JMM raises questions on defection, sends letter to speaker


Ranchi: The issue of defection of six JVM (P) legislators refuses to die down. Like JVM (P) the main opposition party JMM too has raised the issue before the assembly speaker.

JMM general secretary central committee Supriyo Bhattacharjee has asked the assembly speaker about the constitutional validity of joining of six JVM (P) legislators to BJP.

Bhattacharya said that in the recent assembly election the BJP won 37 seats, JMM got 19, JVM (P) secured 8, Congress won 6, AJSU won 5 and one seat went to each of the party including Marxist Coordination Committee, Jharkhand Party, BSP, CPI (ML), Jai Bharat Samanata Party and Nau Jawan Sangharsh Mocha.

In the letter Bhattacharya said that after BJP led government was sworn in on December 28 six out of eight JVM (P) legislators sought separate seats in the assembly along with the ruling party members.

The JVM (P) chief had then suspended four legislators from primary memberships of the party, but on February 11 the six rebel JVM (P) legislators joined the BJP in New Delhi.

Bhattacharya has asked the assembly Dinesh Oraon whether there is any system or code of rules for defection.

Is it possible for members of any political party to switch over to another party by just informing the parent party, Bhattacharya asked.

The JMM general secretary sought clarification on existing provisions on merging of one party to another.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles