Monday, December 4, 2023

Jamshedpur to host maiden CISCE National Boxing Championship

176 boxers including 64 girls from 8 regions to participate

Jamshedpur, Oct 15: Council for the Indian School Certificate Examination will be conducting national level boxing for the first time. The first CISCE National Boxing Championship 2019 is being hosted by the Jamshedpur Zone of ASISC (Association of Schools for the Indian School Certificate), Bihar and Jharkhand Region at the J.R.D. Tata Sports Complex from 16 to 18 October, said Rajani Shekhar treasurer of the CISCE �National Boxing Organising Committee.

Addressing a press conference at JRD Tata Sports Complex on Tuesday, DBMS English School Principal Rajani Shekhar who is also the treasurer of ASISC � Bihar and Jharkhand Region informed that 176 boxers including 64 girls from 8 regions (Karnataka, Maharashtra, UP & UK, Northern, Bihar& Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh & Telangana, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal) will participate in the three-day championship. Bouts will be conducted in U-14, U-17 and U-19 categories for Boys as well as Girls.

She further said that Boxing bouts will start at 2:00 pm on all three days and approximately 36 boxing bouts will be conducted per day.

The organisers informed that inauguration of the championship will held on October 16. The chief Guest for the occasion will be social worker Ruchi Narendran. The Guests of Honour will be Nabarun De who is the Regional Secretary � ASISC of the West Bengal Region, Aruna Mishra, International pugilist and Christopher A Francis, Secretary, ASISC � Bihar and Jharkhand Region and is also the Co-ordinator of the CISCE National Boxing Organising Committee for this Championship. Nabarun De has been appointed by the CISE as a Chief Observer for this event.

Rajani Shekhar has been appointed the treasurer of the CISCE �National Boxing Organising Committee for this Championship.

Principals of eight Schools of Jamshedpur along with their team of teachers are working together for the success of this event.  Swarna Mishra principal of Dayananad Public School, Puneet B. Chauhan of Hill Top School, Ashu Tiwari of Motilal Nehru Public School, Nandini Shukla of Kerala Samajam Model School, Sharmila Mukherjee of Kerala Public School, Kadma, Paromita Roy Choudhury of Narbheram Hansraj English School and Amy Billimoria of Tarapore School are part of the organising committee.

It is worth mentioning that CISCE (Council for the Indian School Certificate Examination) has been conducting several sporting events at the National Level over the past few years and the qualifying students then participate in the SGFI (School Games Federation India).

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles