Wednesday, December 8, 2021

Change in origin point of eight trains passing through Tatanagar

Jamshedpur, Oct 24: South Eastern Railway ( SER) has decided to change the place of origin of eight trains, some of them going through Tatanagar and other stations of Chakradharpur division. The decision is aimed to ease the rush on Howrah station – the busiest railway junction of the eastern region. SER has decided to shift the origin station, from Howrah to Shalimar, of passenger trains that stop at Santragachi (in both Up and Dn directions).

 According to SER’s Garden Reach headquarters, the  Howrah-LTT Special, which goes via Tatanagar, will originate from Shalimar from November 4. While returning, it will end its journey at Shalimar from  November 2.

Similarly, Shalimar will be the originating and terminating station for the following stations:  The Howrah-Porbandar Special from January 15 and January 13, 2022.  The  Howrah-Okha Special from January 18 and January 16. The  Howrah-Vasco Da Gama Special from January 1 and January 4. The Howrah-Hyderabad Special from  January 2 and January 4. The Howrah-Chennai Special from January 14 and January 15. The Howrah-Puri Special from January 14 and January 14.

The Tatanagar railway station is the only A1-category railway station under Chakradharpur division of South Eastern Railway ( SER). The footfall at the station is gradually on the rise because of the increasing number of trains and also because of the fact that Tatanagar falls on the Howrah-Mumbai main line. Several important trains travel via Tatanagar, including the high-profile Rajdhani Express and Duronto Express. The station sees a daily traffic of 90 mail, express and passenger trains, besides a footfall of more than 60,000 passengers. But, in view of the pandemic around a dozen trains pass through the station these days. The footfall of passengers has also come down drastically.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles