Monday, December 5, 2022

Wildlife week celebrations begin at Tata Zoo

Jamshedpur, Oct 1: Tata Steel Zoological Society (TSZS) started the Wildlife Week celebration on Tuesday. At the Inaugural Function at the Nature Education Center like every year five employees of TSZS were felicitated with different award for their performance in their work area.

Keeper Dilip Dey was presented with President Award, Secretary Award was bagged by Tarak Ram, Keeper, Director Award was received by Dinesh Mahto, Assistant Keeper, All round Performance Award was given to Sushen Chandra Mahato, Field Supervisor and Lalan Kumar, Assistant Keeper took away the Highest Devotion to Duty Award. K.K. Chatterjee, I.F.S, Regional Chief Conservator of Forests, Singhbhum, Govt. of Jharkhand who was the Chief Guest inaugurated the week long Wildlife Week celebrations and also give away the prizes. P.R. Prasad, Honorary Secretary, Tata Steel Zoological Society and K.Z. Bhutia, D.F.O. Dhalbhum Forest Division were Guest of Honours.

Jury who judged the Best Eco club Teacher contest included Dr. K.K.Sharma, HOD (Zoology) Jamshedpur Corporate College, Ajay Kumar, RFO Sonua Block, Jharkhand Department of Forest, Amitabh Goswami, Retd. SBI Manager and Seema Rani, Biologist cum Education Officer, TSZP. For the Essay Writing Competition Sayan Banerjee, Management Trainee at Tata Steel judged the event. S.K. Mahato, Curator extended the Vote of Thanks while Seema Rani coordinated it. It was attended by Dr, M. Palit, Dy. Director cum vety. Officer, K.Z. Bhutia, D.F.O. Dhalbhum Forest Division, Dr. K. K. Sharma, HOD Dept. of Zoology, Jsr, Corporate College, Dr. N. C. Singhal, President Rotary Club Jamshedpur, Nazim Murtuza, Manager S.B.I XLRI. In the Hindi essay writing competition (Bilingual) 38 students from 13 schools took part where Aditi Basu of Loyola School bagged the first prize, Sapan Ravidas of Gyandeep High School was second while Gunjan Kumar Pandey of KPS, Kadma and Sparsh from JPS bagged the third prize Apurna Raj and Siddharth S Kahali of LFS were given consolation prizes.

In the English essay competition which was titled “Role of plants as water conservator!” 43 students from 15 schools participated where Supriya of Vidya Bharati Chinmaya Vidyalaya was first, Shreyan Ganguly of Loyola and Divya of JPS were second, Soham Sengupta of LFS was third while Ananya Damodran and Mohit Das received consolation prizes. Arun Kumar Mahato of KPS Burmamines bagged the winners tag in the Best Eco Club Teacher Award, K Jaishree of Jusco School, South Park was the runners up while Indrani Bhaumik of MNPS was awarded on special recommendation. On day two of the celebrations Prabhat Pheri will be flagged of by K. N. Venkatachalam, Co-sponsor of Wildlife Week celebrations 2013 at 7 AM from Zoo Main gate.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles