Friday, December 1, 2023

Rajya Sabha by polls in Jharkhand today

Ranchi, July 1: �The stage is set for Rajya Sabha bypoll in Jharkhand on Thursday with six MLAs, who were facing disqualification charges for joining BJP after winning the assembly polls on JVM(P) tickets, being allowed to cast their votes.

The bypoll is being held following the resignation of KD Singh, who had won the seat with the backing of JMM and later joined Trinamool Congress. His term was scheduled to end next year.

Well-known journalist MJ Akbar and Haji Hussain Ansari of JMM are in the fray.

Naveen Jaiswal (Hatia), Amar Kumar Bauri (Chandankiyari), Ganesh Ganju (Simeria), Alok Kumar Chourasia (Daltonganj), Randhir Kumar Singh (Sarath) and Janki Yadav (Barkatha) had joined BJP on 11 February after winning the December assembly elections on Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) symbol.

Bauri and Singh were later inducted in the Raghubar Das Cabinet, prompting former Jharkhand chief minister Babulal Marandi’s JVM to move the Speaker’s office for their disqualification under the Tenth Schedule.

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles