NML Jamshedpur bags CSIR Technology Award 2015


    Jamshedpur, Oct 3: CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory (CSIR-NML), Jamshedpur won the CSIR Technology awards for Business Development and Technology Marketing for significantly enhancing the business and markets of knowledgebase amongst its 38 laboratories distributed across the country.

    The Award was received by the CSIR-NML Team, comprising Dr. I.Chattoraj, Dr P. N. Chaudhary, Dr.M.Tarafder, Dr.K.L.Hansda, Dr.S.K.Pal, Dr. A. Madhkar, Ms. B.Kumari, Shri A.K Upadhyay and Dr. N.G.Goswami.

    “CSIR-NML has significantly enhanced the business for its knowledgebase through innovation methods, building strong linkages with major stake holder and adopting unique revenue generation models.

    CSIR-NML has emerged as a customer sensitive and globally competitive research institute in the area of minerals, metals and materials by introducing technology partnerships and collaborative business models with Indian industries, foreign clients and multinationals.

    CSIR-NML has adopted several new strategies and business models for technology development, pricing and sharing of its knowledgebase, marketing of technologies and utilization of its infrastructural resources by the industry which has led to a sustainable and cumulative growth of over 50-60% in its external cash flow (ECF) over a period of five years. The strategy to obtain joint Intellectual Property (IP) with industry has also led to meaningful patents with much lower dormancy.

    CSIR-NML has continuously improved its relationship with customers and entrepreneurs by analyzing their needs, by optimizing project pricing, measuring and monitoring changes in customer satisfaction and adjusting its strategy to the changes in the markets. It has implemented 360 degree accountability of project finances and time-line to maximize effective utilisation of resources”.

    The Award was given away during the CSIR Foundation Day celebration programme held at New Delhi on 26th September 2015 in Vigyan Bhawan. The Award was given away by Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister of Science & Technology, Govt. of India.


    Leave a Reply Cancel reply

    Exit mobile version