Kolhan University to introduce Choice Based Credit System


    Jamshedpur, May 17 : Kolhan University has decided to introduce Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) from the upcoming session (2017-2018). The students pursuing post graduate courses in Kolhan University can now get the benefits.

    Shukla Mahanty, the vice-chancellor, Kolhan University chaired a meeting with all the deans and head of the departments and officials of the varsity at its office in Chaibasa. The meeting also witnessed the presence of Poornima Kumar, principal in charge of Jamshedpur Women’s College along with two other faculty members as the institute has already implemented CBCS last year.

    Mahanty has constituted a six member committee to revise the rules of the CBCS implementation as per the updated regulations of the UGC. Ranjeet Kumar Singh, the pro vice-chancellor of Kolhan University will head the committee and is expected to submit the report with the amendments (if any) within three days from today.

    According to officials, the new universities in Jharkhand –Kolhan and Nilamber-Pitamber University have not yet implemented the CBCS system which others have already done.

    The CBCS programme introduced by the University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi is where the students have a choice to choose from the prescribed courses, which are referred as core, elective or minor or soft skill courses and they can learn at their own pace and the entire assessment is graded-based on a credit system.

    “Our education system is confined to rote learning but the CBCS facilitates learning in theory and practice. The system will involve project works, outreach activities, and field programmes. I feel all this will benefit university students,” noted another senior official.

    He went on to add that the implementation of the CBCS will help students learn effectively and enjoy the advantages of curriculum flexibility and learners’ mobility. Since the entire system focuses on redefining the curriculum into smaller measurable entities, it will ensure the overall development of a student.

    The Kolhan University was established on August 13, 2009 with 14 Constituent Colleges and 12 Affiliated Colleges in geographical jurisdiction of East Singhbhum, West Singhbhum and Seraikela Kharswan District with more than 80,000 students strength. The university is in the area of tribal region.

    Apart from conventional courses in UG and PG level including medical/ dental/ engineering/ law/ management/ education following vocational courses are running under the university.

    To implement the CBCS, any institution must have facilities to offer courses in a wide range of subjects and streams. Kolhan University that boasts around 80,000 students in three districts–East Singhbhum, Seraikela-Kharswa and West Singhbhum has 24 subjects.


    Leave a Reply

    Exit mobile version