JMM to boycott KU convocation


    Chaibasa, Nov. 27: JMM leaders of Kolhan have decided to boycott the convocation of Kolhan university scheduled to be held at Chaibasa on Monday.

    JMM MLAs Geeta Koda, Deepak Birua, Shashibhushan Samad, Dashrath Gagrai and Niral Purty will jointly boycott the convocation. Addressing a press conference at circuit house in chaibasa on Sunday, Seraikela-Kharsawan MLA Dashrath Gagrai said, the vice-chancellor of Kolhan university RPP Singh deliberately denied the local MLA to honor them as guest during varsity convocation whereas BJP leaders MPs have been invited as guests.

    MLA termed the vice chancellor as the BJP agent. Local MLA Deepak Birua said that the University has become the center of politics and vice chancellor including governor are BJP minded.

    MLA Birua accused Vice chancellor of spending Rs 4 lakh for going to Delhi to invite home minister Rajnath Singh for the convocation. He demanded that Vice Chancellor must be removed from the post immediately.

    Jai Bharat Samanta Party MLA Geeta Koda said, the Kolhan university has become the focal point of BJP politics and asserted that she would protest the convocation before Governor Draupadi Murmu.

    But according to the university experts opinion, the convocation protocol says that only the chief guest, HOD, Vice Chancellor or the principal, the controller of the examination, members of the management committee and the university concerned government officials can participate in prescribed robes with the alumina in procession.

    Even chief secretary of the state and Deputy Commissioner of that particular district cannot share the stage with chief guest as it is against the protocol. In many occasions even chief Minister of the state was seen seated down with the common man during convocation .


    Leave a Reply

    Exit mobile version